Loading...

Containment

Containment refers in the technical sense:

  • a safety device in nuclear power plants, see containment
  • the compressor and turbine casing of an aircraft jet engine
  • the sealing off of a manufacturing process or hazardous location, e.g. for employee protection
Image for Merkle & Partner Containment Example

Containment is thus the containment of something dangerous or unpleasant and includes the act or process of keeping the dangerous or unpleasant thing under control in a particular area or place.

For this purpose, there is also the term enclosure, that is, an enclosure or space that must not be penetrated by hazardous particles to protect the environment.

An exploding tank, a broken rotor, detached turbine blades, fragments of a grinding wheel, liquids, gases should therefore not penetrate the enclosure or test chamber during a controlled test or component failure under pressure, acceleration or centrifugal force.

Rotating parts

In the case of rotating parts, containment is understood to mean protection against failing, rapidly rotating components by means of appropriately dimensioned housings. If, for example, a grinding wheel breaks, the fragments must not leave the protective housing. This applies equally to turbochargers, engine blades, compressor blades and rotating shafts. In the case of detaching engine blades on an aircraft, the fragments must not penetrate the engine housing in order to protect the passengers and the aircraft.

Accelerated parts and fluids

These can be machine components such as robot arms, which do not leave the protected space in the event of a failure of the control system. If the robot arm hits the safety housing with a certain, defined energy, there must be no penetration. Accelerated liquids are a special case. This is used, for example, in the simulation of tank sloshing. Baffles can be used to prevent liquid from destroying the tank.

Parts under high pressure

If pumps, hoses, tanks or containers fail, e.g. during push-off or burst tests, the fragments, but also the media with which the pressure is generated (e.g. water, oil or air or gas) must remain in the test chamber, which as a rule should also not be destroyed.

The pressure vessel standards prescribe appropriate tests in test chambers here.

Bombardment

If armored vehicles or buildings are fired upon, the projectile must not reach the area to be secured. The protection of people by bulletproof vests can also be considered. Here, the bruising or breaking of ribs due to the impact can be considered.

Explosion

Explosions are a special case of pressure loads, which we can calculate using the same procedures. Here, the pressure load is described mathematically as a temporal pressure wave. This is an extension of the quasi-static pressure shock resistance test, which we can of course also cover by calculation.

Notes

Merkle & Partner is a world leader in the calculation and design of test chambers.

We use a wide variety of methods and can also take the behavior of media (water, steam, gas, air) into account in the calculation.

Why:

Why are such simulations performed?

Containment costs money and, above all, must be safe.

The aim of the simulation is to prove or optimize / design the containment, the armor, the chamber, so that it is ensured that the containment is safe, but also not oversized.

How:

The physics of this type of simulation is very complex, since it involves highly dynamic processes with different media (solids, liquids, gases), in which the behavior of the materials (strain rate dependence, fracture behavior, triaxility) plays a particularly important role. The energies released are sometimes enormous and often correspond to upper-class cars at 200 km/h speed.

In video 1 you can see a test chamber in container design, where hydrogen cylinders are tested with water until they break. The sacrificial plates, which hang on chains like a shower curtain, can be easily replaced if necessary.

Compressed gases contain additional energy compared to liquids, which are comparatively incompressible. However, compressibility at high pressures also plays a major role for liquids and must not be neglected.

This topic is predestined for us, as we have and will maintain a long-standing lead in this field.
Many well-known manufacturers of test chambers, hoses, turbochargers, shredders, etc. rely on our expertise here.

We would be happy to help you build more efficient test chambers, enclosures, buildings, armor or protective devices without wasting money senselessly.

Video 2 shows the bursting behavior of a vacuum generator used for cabin ventilation in aviation. The speeds at rupture are around 25,000 rpm.

Fields of application of Merkle & Partner

  • Design
  • Containment
  • Bursting
  • Burst test
  • Bombardment
  • Rupture
  • Strain rate
  • Compressive shock resistance
  • Compression test
  • Bullet penetration
  • Explosion
  • Building protection
  • High pressure
  • Multiphase
  • Armor
  • Personal protection
  • Test chamber
  • Rotor
  • Tank swarm
  • Turbine
  • Turbocharger
  • Compressor
  • Failure

Vielen Dank.

Ihr Feedback wird schnellstmöglich bearbeitet.

Thank You For Your Ratings.

User Ratings
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star

Vielen Dank.

Ihr Feedback wird schnellstmöglich bearbeitet.

Valid email is required!

Enter valid email address

Thank You For Your Feedback.

Loading...

Containment

Containment bezeichnet im technischen Sinne:
•  eine Sicherheitseinrichtung in Kernkraftwerken, siehe Sicherheitsbehälter
•  das Verdichter- und Turbinengehäuse eines Flugzeug-Strahltriebwerks
•  die Abschottung eines Herstellungsprozesses oder gefährlichen Ortes, z. B. zum Mitarbeiterschutz

Bild zu Merkle & Partner Containment Beispiel

Containment ist somit die Eindämmung von etwas Gefährlichem oder Unangenehmen und umfasst die Handlung oder den Prozess, das Gefährliche oder Unangenehme in einem bestimmten Gebiet oder an einem bestimmten Ort unter Kontrolle zu halten.

Hierzu gibt es auch den Begriff Einhausung, also ein Gehäuse oder ein Raum, der durch gefährliche Partikel zum Schutz der Umgebung nicht durchbrochen werden darf.

Ein explodierender Tank, ein zerbrochener Rotor, abgelöste Turbinenschaufeln, Bruchstücke einer Schleifscheibe,   Flüssigkeiten, Gase sollten bei einem kontrollierten Test oder einem Versagen von Bauteilen unter Druck, Beschleunigung oder Fliehkraft die Einhausung oder Prüfkammer also nicht durchdringen.

Rotierende Teile

Bei rotierenden Teilen versteht man unter Containment den Schutz vor versagenden, schnell rotierenden Bauteilen durch entsprechend dimensionierte Gehäuse. Bricht z.B. eine Schleifscheibe, so dürfen die Bruchstücke das Schutzgehäuse nicht verlassen. Dies trifft für Turbolader, Triebwerksschaufel, Verdichterschaufeln und rotierenden Wellen gleichermaßen zu. Bei sich ablösenden Triebwerksschaufeln eines Flugzeuges dürfen die Bruchstücke das Triebwerksgehäuse nicht durchdringen, um die Passagiere und das Flugzeug zu schützen.

Beschleunigte Teile und Flüssigkeiten

Dies können Maschinenkomponenten wie z.B. Roboterarme sein, die bei einem Versagen der Steuerung den Schutzraum nicht verlassen. Trifft der Roboterarm mit einer bestimmten, definierten Energie auf das Sicherheitsgehäuse, darf es zu keinem Durchstossen kommen. Beschleunigte Flüssigkeiten sind ein Sonderfall. Anwendung findet dies z.B. bei der Simulation des Tankschwappens. Durch Schwallbleche kann vermieden werden, dass Flüssigkeit den Tank zerstört.

Teile unter Hochdruck

Versagen Pumpen, Schläuche, Tanks oder Behälter z.B. bei Abdrück- oder Berstversuchen, so müssen die Bruchstücke, aber auch die Medien, mit denen der Druck erzeugt wird  (z.B. Wasser, Öl oder Luft bzw. Gas) in der Prüfkammer verbleiben, die im Regelfall auch nicht zerstört werden sollte.

Die Druckbehälternormen schreiben hier entsprechende Tests in Prüfkammern vor.

Beschuss

Bei einem Beschuss von gepanzerten Fahrzeugen oder Gebäuden darf das Projektil den zu sichernden Bereich nicht erreichen. Auch der Schutz von Menschen durch schusssichere Westen kann betrachtet werden. Hier können die Prellungen bzw. das brechen von Rippen aufgrund des Impacts betrachtet werden.

Explosion

Explosionen sind ein Sonderfall von Drucklasten, die wir mit den gleichen Verfahren berechnen können. Die Drucklast wird hier als zeitliche Druckwelle rechnerisch beschrieben. Dies ist eine Erweiterung der quasistatischen Druckstoßfestigkeitsprüfung, die wir natürlich ebenfalls rechnerisch abdecken können.

Anmerkungen

Merkle & Partner ist weltweit führend bei der Berechnung und Auslegung von Prüfkammern.

Wir setzen unterschiedlichste Verfahren ein und können auch das Verhalten von Medien (Wasser, Dampf, Gas, Luft) in der Berechnung berücksichtigen.

Warum:

Warum werden solche Simulationen durchgeführt?

Containment kostet Geld und muss vor allem sicher sein.

Ziel der Simulation ist der Nachweis bzw. die Optimierung / Auslegung der Einhausung, der Panzerung, der Kammer, so dass gewährleistet ist, dass   das Containment sicher, aber auch nicht überdimensioniert ist.

Wie:

Die Physik ist bei dieser Art der Simulation sehr komplex, da es sich um hochdynamische Vorgänge mit unterschiedlichen Medien (Festkörper, Flüssigkeiten, Gase) handelt, bei denen insbesondere das Verhalten der Werkstoffe (Dehnratenabhängigkeit, Bruchverhalten, Triaxilität) mit eine gravierende Rolle besitzt. Die freigesetzten Energien sind teilweise enorm und entsprechen oft Oberklassewagen bei 200 km/h Geschwindigkeit.

In Video 1 sehen Sie eine Prüfkammer in Containerbauweise, bei denen Wasserstoffflaschen mit Wasser bis zum Bruch getestet werden. Die Opferplatten, die wie ein Duschvorhang an Ketten hängen, können notfalls bei Beschädigungen einfach ausgetauscht werden.

Komprimierte Gase beinhalten zusätzliche Energie im Vergleich zu Flüssigkeiten, die vergleichsweise inkompressibel sind. Allerdings spielt auch bei Flüssigkeiten die Kompressibilität bei hohen Drücken eine große Rolle und darf nicht vernachlässigt werden.

Das Thema ist prädestiniert für uns, da wir hier einen langjährigen Vorsprung besitzen und halten werden.
Viele namhafte Hersteller von Prüfkammern, Schläuchen, Turboladern, Zerkleinerern usw. setzen hier auf unsere Expertise.

Gerne helfen wir Ihnen, effizientere Prüfkammern, Einhausungen, Gehäuse, Gebäude, Panzerungen oder Schutzvorrichtungen zu bauen, ohne sinnlos Geld zu verschwenden.

 

Video 2 zeigt das Berstverhalten eines Vakuumgenerators, der zur Kabinenbelüftung in der Luftfahrt eingesetzt wird. Die Drehzahlen beim Bruch liegen bei etwa 25.000 U/min.

Anwendungsgebiete von Merkle & Partner

  • Auslegung
  • Containment
  • Bersten
  • Berstversuch
  • Beschuss
  • Bruch
  • Dehnrate
  • Druckstossfestigkeit
  • Druckversuch
  • Durchschuss
  • Explosion
  • Gebäudeschutz
  • Hochdruck
  • Mehrphasen
  • Panzerung
  • Personenschutz
  • Prüfkammer
  • Rotor
  • Tankschwappen
  • Turbine
  • Turbolader
  • Verdichter
  • Versagen

Vielen Dank.

Ihr Feedback wird schnellstmöglich bearbeitet.

Thank You For Your Ratings.

User Ratings
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star

Vielen Dank.

Ihr Feedback wird schnellstmöglich bearbeitet.

Valid email is required!

Enter valid email address

Thank You For Your Feedback.